He Forgot to Go South

It’s cold outside. The kind of cold I’d bottle and save for July. I’m outside with no coat and untied shoes, starting my car so I can peel out of the driveway in five minutes. The engine protests. I jog back to the house.

My hand sticks to the metal on the door just a little bit and I hear the most beautiful sound. A bird singing over the cold I’d bottle and save for July. One bird, who forgot to go South for the winter. Stayed just for me. Stayed to remind me to stop. To take a moment. To be. Just be, even standing outside with no coat and untied shoes in the cold I’d bottle and save for July.

To listen to the beautiful song.

3 thoughts on “He Forgot to Go South

  1. I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. Check out my blog post today for details. Miss reading your blog. I have not seen a new post in awhile. Maybe this will inspire you! Caitlin

    • Oh, thank you, so honored. Are you missing the blog since I self-hosted? It doesn’t come across in the WP.com stuff anymore. I have slowed down a bit because I just finished a book…excited, but I’m still posting at least weekly. You might have to go to the blog page directly. How are things for you this school year?

Leave a comment